NPLS: Community Libraries

Partners with Nunavummiut in preserving culture and nurturing literacy.

Community Libraries

Public libraries are located in the following regions:

QIKIQTANI COMMUNITY LIBRARIES

Iqaluit Centennial Library
P.O. Bag 189A, Iqaluit, NU, X0A 0H0
Ph: 867-975-5595 Fax: 867-979-1373
e-mail: iqaluit@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Head Librarian: Dan Galway
Librarians: Simone Cuerrier, Isaac Demeester, Una Parsons
Location: Unikkaarvik Building
Hours: Mon. & Wed. & Fri. 1-6 pm
Tues. & Thurs. 3-8 pm, Sat. 1-4 pm, Sun. closed
Special Programs: Infant and Pre-schooler Story Time Hour
Special Collections: CD collection, T.H. Manning collection
Clyde River Community Library
P.O. Box 150, Clyde River, NU, X0A 0E0
Ph: 867-924-6565 Fax: 867-924-6570
e-mail: ijonas@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Irene Jonas
Location: Ilisaqsivik Family Resource Centre
Hours: Mon.- Fri. 10-12, 1-5 pm
Web: http://www.ilisaqsivik.ca
Igloolik Amitturmiut Library
P.O. Box 30, Igloolik, NU, X0A 0L0
Ph: 867-934-8812
e-mail: nkadlutsiak@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Nancy Kadlutsiak
Qimiruvik Library
P.O. Box 403, Pangnirtung, NU, X0A 0R0
Ph: 867-473-8678 Fax: 867-473-8685
e-mail: lnauyuq@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Lorna Nauyuq
Location: Angmarlik Visitors Centre
Hours: Mon. 6-9 pm Tues.-Fri. 3-6 pm
Sat. 3-5 pm
Rebecca P. Idlout Library
P.O. Box 580, Pond Inlet, NU, X0A 0S0
Ph: 867-899-8972 Fax: 867-899-8175
e-mail: dkellock@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Dawn Kellock
Location: Nattinnak Centre
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 1:30-4:30 pm Wed. 7-9 pm
Special Programs: Pre School and Day Care Groups meet weekly
Special Collections: Circumpolar collection
Library Board Contact Address: Marian Ferguson, P.O. Box 580, Pond Inlet, NU XOA OSO

KIVALLIQ COMMUNITY LIBRARIES

Donald Suluk Library
P.O. Box 4000, Arviat, NU, X0C 0E0
Ph: 867-857-2579 Fax: 867-857-4048
e-mail: dsigurdson@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Diane Sigurdson
Location: Donald Suluk Building
Hours: Mon. - Thurs. 9-4 pm Tues. and Thurs. 7 pm-9:30 pm
Fri. closed, Sat. noon - 3pm
Thomas Tapatai Library
P.O. Box 150, Baker Lake, NU, X0C 0A0
Ph: 867-793-4657 ext. 12 Fax: 867-793-4659
e-mail: saaruaq@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Sally Aaruaq
Location: Jonah Amitnaaq High School
Hours: Mon. Closed Tues. 3:45-5:45 pm (after school all ages), 6-8 pm (adult/family hours).
Wed. 2:00-3:30pm (pre-school programming) & 3:45-5:45pm (after school all ages)
Thurs. 3:45-5:45pm (after school all ages) & 6:00-8:00 pm (adult/family hours)
Fri. 2:00 – 3:45 (administration and special programming) & 3:45 – 5:00 (after school/all ages)
Sat. 1:00 – 5:00pm (all ages/open programming) Sun. Closed
John Ayaruaq Library
P.O. Box 002, Rankin Inlet, NU, X0C 0G0
Ph: 867-645-8081 Fax: 867-645-8082
e-mail: ftheytaz@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Fabienne Theytaz
Location: Maani Uluyuk Ilinniarvik
Hours: Tues.-Fri. 10-12, 1-5 pm, Tues. and Thurs. 6:30 - 8 pm
Sat. 1-5 pm

KITIKMEOT COMMUNITY LIBRARIES

May Hakongak Community Library
P.O. Box 1106, Cambridge Bay, NU, X0B 0C0
Ph: 867-983-2163 Fax: 867-983-3397
e-mail: cfirlotte@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Carmen Firlotte
Location: Kiilinik High School
Hours: Mon -Thurs 1pm-5pm, Tues. & Thurs. 7-9 pm
Sat. Closed. Sun 1pm-6pm
Web: http://www.kitikmeotheritage.ca/exhibits.htm
Kugluktuk Community Library
P.O. Box 190, Kugluktuk, NU, X0E 0E0
Ph: 867-982-4406 Fax: 867-982-3404
e-mail: jongahak@publiclibraries.nu.ca
Local Librarian: Jennifer Ongahak
Location: Community Access Center
Hours: Mon to Fri. 1-5pm